MISSION

The Hawai‘i Museums Association (HMA) is a non-profit corporation dedicated to communication and cooperation among the staffs and supporters of Hawai’i’s museums. Founded in 1968.

HMA strives to:
• be a catalyst for the exchange of information and ideas among museums and related institutions in Hawai’i
• promote and develop professional standards for Hawai’i museums through an ongoing program of professional training and publications
• stimulate interest in and promote information about museums as important educational and cultural centers
• conduct and encourage research and disseminate findings related to the museum field.

The Hawai’i Museums Association (HMA) is governed by volunteer board members with representation from each of Hawai‘i’s four counties; Hawai‘i, O‘ahu, Kaua‘i, and Maui.

PRESIDENT
Kathy Suter
National Museum of the American Indian
Retired
kathy@hawaiimuseums.org

VICE PRESIDENT
Karen Ewald
Hawaii State Art Museum
Karen@hawaiimuseums.org

Secretary
Malia Baron
Bishop Museum
Malia@hawaiimuseums.org

Treasurer
Theo Morrison
Lahania Restoration Foundation
Theo@hawaiimuseums.org

Directors at large

Heather Diamond
(ʻIolani Palace, Retired)
heather@hawaiimuseums.org

Keahe Davis
King Kamehameha V Judiciary History Center
Keahe@hawaiimuseums.org

Heather Terstegge
Shangri La, Center for Islamic Art and Cultures
hterstegge@hawaiimuseums.org

Healoha Johnston
Honolulu Museum of Art
healohaj@hawaiimuseums.org

Marion Cadora
John Young Museum of Art
marionc@hawaiimuseums.org

Mariko Chang
Hawaiʻi Theater Center
marikolc@hawaiimuseums.org

Membership

The membership committee is responsible for surveying member needs and preferences, researching and representing membership benefits, and spearheading the annual membership campaign.

 

Nūhou

The Nūhou committee is responsible for soliciting content and distributing the quarterly HMA newsletter.

 

Programming

The programming committee is responsible for developing networking and educational events that serve HMA members and promote Hawaii museums.

Fundraising

The fundraising committee is responsible for seeking out and developing fundraising sources to support HMA activities and initiatives.

 

Conference

The conference committee is responsible for organizing the annual HMA conference to include selecting the theme, arranging for presenters, setting up tours, acquiring the location, setting a budget and all logistics related to the event.

 

Advocacy

The advocacy committee is responsible for researching and developing initiatives that promote the importance of Hawaii museums to local communities and the state.

 

Website and Social Media

The website and social media committee is responsible for researching new and interesting content to be added to the HMA website making it the source for museum industry information statewide. It is also responsible for posting content on the HMA social media venues to engage the membership.

Heather Diamond, Iolani Palace
Jane Hoffman, Kilauea Point Natural History Association
Stacy Hoshino, Hawai’i Council for the Humanities
Peter Van Dyke, Amy Greenwell Ethnobotanical Garden
Betty Lou Kam, Bishop Museum
E. Tory Laitila
Deborah Dunn
Dolly Strazar
Georgianna Lagoria
DONATE
JOIN
ANNUAL CONFERENCE

Hawaii Museums App

Member Directory

Add an Event

Events Calendar

About

Newsletter

Museums

Jobs

Contact